Artist Spotlight: Kevin Obregon

Tell me a little bit about yourself..

My name is Kevin Obregón and I am a painter, sculptor, writer, photographer, musician, artist advocate, performance artist (live paintings), muralist and organizer. I am a fifth-generation Texan from San Antonio. Out of High School, I was studying to be a doctor, as a Biology major with an art & jazz minor, with the idea that I was going to be a medical illustrator, since I was drawing photo-realistically since I was in Jr. High. It didn’t take too long to figure out I was not only barking up the wrong tree, but that once I embraced the idea of working large, I was doing something more physically and psychically rewarding. But still, one New Years day 1988, I chose to move to Dallas to study visual communications where I received a scholarship to the Art Institute of Dallas and began honing my talents and began working on my skills as a designer. After working in positions ranging from Creative Director for a video game company to set designing to writing copy for advertising, I decided to launch myself into the realm of being a professional full-time fine artist.

As you have grown within your talent, what inspires you to create?

I am inspired by everything, really. Overheard conversations (even those lip-read), the way shadows play upon textures, the synchronous and serendipitous placement of everyday objects seen only if your eyes are trained to recognize their rarefied state. Of course, I am also inspired by the female form, totemic creatures, and the spontaneity of life. I love to take pictures & carry my camera with me always in order to capture these elements as they are brought before me, so photography helps me to what can best be described as time travel – through strong sense memory.

How long have you been producing your craft and why did you begin this form of expression?

Since the age of 2 years, I was drawing more than speaking, perhaps due to the fact that since birth, I had problems with my hearing. I had my own design firm while still in high school, designing logos, T-shirts and album covers – even redesigned my drum section’s marching band uniforms to a more sleek, corp-style of apparel. I took up painting seriously in 1994, starting with photo realism again, but I eventually expanded my interests beyond painting into mixed media, assemblage, small sculptures and then began applying how music can affect its execution. After moving to Little Forest Hills – a highly creative enclave of artists and musicians in east Dallas, I was selected to be on the steering committee for the White Rock Lake Artist’s Studio Tour, which at the time, was in it’s 12th year of operation. It wasn’t until after opening my studio up to the public & started painted before a live audience (after suffering a bit of performance anxiety, I admit), that I realized that the general public is enthralled by watching art being made. I hadn’t realized at the time just how moved people were – and contrary to what many artists might think, the notion of “demystifying” the art-making process in front of someone doesn’t actually reveal many trade secrets (although it can, artist’s should be wary of doing so), but it “re-mystifies” the ideals behind being an artist and that to make something look easy can floor people. Hence, I began to paint before larger audiences and eventually figured out that the relationship people have with art is enhanced when they invest in the moment of its creation. Once people invest in the moment, they are more likely to develop a relationship with not only the artist, but the artist’s work. There’s now a story behind the art and not merely a “product”, devoid of real-world narrative.

What do you ultimately want to accomplish with your talent?

I want to simply make art in whatever form I feel expresses it best.

Outside of your artistry, what other interests do you have?

I am interested in cultural anthropology through murals & graffiti, social injustices, quantum jumping & theories revolving around the theory of holographic frequencies & interference as it pertains to alternate realities. I love the idea of love, as well.

What was your first experience with ArtLoveMagic?

I had seen a group of artists making art as part of the “I Am Here” show at the Southside on Lamar near downtown Dallas. It reaffirmed how people respond to artists making art in contrast to artists showing finished art. Both of which are just as valid, but have very difference visceral residues from the art viewer. Since then, I have observed ALM and participated in a few other events, the most recent of which was their second annual “Underground” show – also at Southside on Lamar in February of 2011.

What web address can one go to to view more of what you do?

www.sites.google.com/site/kevinobregon

How can someone contact you?

Since I;m hearing impaired, e-mail or facebook are the easiest.

My e-mail address is: KevinObregon@hotmail.com

and my facebook page is: http://www.facebook.com/kevin.obregon

4 Responses to “Artist Spotlight: Kevin Obregon”

  1. It should be noted that the metal & light sculpture (“The American Beast”) was a collaboration between fellow artist Michael Christopher and myself.

  2. Bravo Kevin!! Great interview my man. And cool to see more of your images.

  3. Rock on! KO!

Leave a Reply

