Artist Spotlight: Jamie Reeves

Tell me a little bit about yourself..

Hey there. My name is Jamie Reeves and I am a singer/songwriter from a little city called  Wylie, TX. Both of my parents grew up in musical families, so growing up my parents were always supportive of my love for playing music. With both of my older brothers being guitar players,  it wasn’t long after getting my first guitar that I began to strum the strings and write lyrics.  Before learning guitar I developed a passion for writing poetry. Lyrics and messages to the soul are very important in my music.  These days I reside in Carrollton where I play solo acoustic shows and high powered rock electric shows with  The Demigods.

As you have grown within your talent, what inspires you to create?

WOW! What an amazing question! One big thing that  inspires me to express is the world around me, and the world within me; even more so, the bridge that connects both of those worlds. Then there is the emotional world; it can take us to the highest highs and the lowest lows, it lets us express ourselves in the most unique fashion.  Then there is the “State of the World.”  It lets us create the beauty that we wish to see when we look from behind our eyes. Even though the world is filled with so much suffering, we can still make things brighter by following our dreams.

How long have you been producing your craft and why did you begin this form of expression?

I began writing songs with my brother Jake Reeves at the age of 11. With the help of my dad who was a harmonica player in the Dallas blues and Texas country scene, we played picking parties for the  now well known radio station 95.3 The Range. At the age of fifteen my Dad bought me my first acoustic guitar.  It wasn’t long  before I was singing and strumming, writing and molding, finding my self through poetry and sound. At heart, I am a healer. I can remember the first time I sang a note in front of my first grade music class and a shock of electricity ran up my spine. I felt I could heal with my voice, and this is why I continue to sing.


What do you ultimately want to accomplish with your talent?

I like this because this is a larger than life question. I want to share my music with the people on this planet who want to make this world a brighter place to live.  To one day be a part of something so big, it changes these false systems that we are all trapped in. I want to remind people of the old ways of the tribe and Shaman; to heal themselves with herbs, organic foods, and ancient healing methods. To plant trees, to respect nature and every form of life.”We are the music makers, we are the dreamers of the dream.”

Outside of your artistry, what other interests do you have?

These days I enjoy riding my bike, playing with my animals,  hanging with my family, practicing healing and magical arts, reading, camping, spending time with my niece, and crystal collecting.

What was your first experience with ArtLoveMagic?

My first ArtLoveMagic show was girlShow 2008. A couple of months previously I had met Deborah Driscoll and Cheryl Anderson at a local art collective called The Shanty. At the time I had taken somewhat of a hiatus from music and was focusing on research and activism. I started actively playing at the shanty, and once again began to write songs. Deb and Cheryl instantly told me about girlShow and ArtLove Magic. I started writing a song of inspiration called “Frozen memories” before the show. It was as if all of my emotions and built up energy from that year was packed into the song, and I was so ready to finally play a show again.  The night was filled with magical paint brushes and flashes of photography, beautiful faces, and voices. When I took the stage the magic took over, as I sang frozen memories I looked up to see everyone at the show watching me very intensely.  I had not yet finished the song, but on that magical night I wrote the rest of the song on stage, and I shined bright. ArtLoveMagic is an incredible organization for artistic people to gain inspiration, I am so happy that I found these fantastic beings during that difficult period in my life.

What web address can one go to to view more of what you do?

http://myspace.com/jamiereevesmusic

also     http://reverbnation.com/thedemigods

How can someone contact you?

You can email me at hardtruthsoldierchick@gmail.com
Namaste,
~J

2 Responses to “Artist Spotlight: Jamie Reeves”

  1. Sherry Muldoon Says:

    I love Jamie!! Beautiful, magic, soul….

  2. What could I possily add to the accolades that Jamie receives from all her friends? She is the spiritual leader of a group of old souls that are the new generation of artists , musicians , philosophers , and craftsmen. In the nick of time…..I and my generation of activists of the 60’s have carried the load too long and are ready to hand it over to these fine young and energetic souls .

Leave a Reply

