Artist Spotlight: Khalid Robertson

Tell me a little bit about yourself..

Well let’s see. I’ve been drawing and making stuff since about 7th grade. I think that book Dark Knight Returns got me started. After that, that was all she wrote. I set off to do this comic/art thing.
I ended up at Prarie View A&M after high school, at L.C. Anderson in Austin Texas, where I’m originally from. It was a good school. Made a lot of friends, but it wasn’t what I was about. I think this is around the time I started getting my never ending requests of : Can You Draw My Logo?
After a while, Prarie View couldn’t give me the education I needed, so I went to University of North Texas. My major was Communication Design (i.e. Graphic Design). It was cool also. I met plenty of people and learned a lot. HOWEVER, none had as much of a profound effect on me as the mighty Ghostwerks crew; Mario Cauley, Samax Randolph, Corance Davis and Michael Lagocki!
I learned a lot about comics, art and focus. I saw my faults and my strengths, and in the process, I developed strong life long relationships. I graduated in 1997 from UNT, andstarted in the web design business. I kept drawing and still do, and I hope to keep growing as an artist as much as possible.

As you have grown within your talent, what inspires you to create?

Animation does a lot. I need a better computer so I can get more of what I want. 3D, 2D, After Effects, Game design, and movies. All are inspirations, from Turbo Teen to FLCL.

How long have you been producing your craft and why did you begin this form of expression?

I started in about ’84. I remember I got back from a Boy Scout camp out and went to the mall after washing off  Boy Scout funk. I’d gone to the book store and found a book called “Drawing Comics the Marvel Way”. I’ve never been so hyped. I think I was on that thing from 4 to 11pm. From there I got into a lot of the Image Comics’ guys and grafitti.
I never really picked up a krylon can, but enjoyed the aesthetic all the same. After that I try to apply as much as I know can fit into whatever project I can do.

What do you ultimately want to accomplish with your talent?

I would love to make an animated movie for myself, direct a big budget animated movie, have my own product and company and keep working to make comics.
The ultimate goal of all of this though, is to realize who I am and learn to trust it.

Outside of your artistry, what other interests do you have?

I have typical interests: basketball, women, religion and learning how to cook.  A big one is music, and how beats are made and the applications people use these days. People use iPhones to make beats now. Crazy.

What was your first experience with ArtLoveMagic?

Wow. I suppose a big one was Samax and I teaching kids about art from ages 5 – 15. I had a drawing of spider man and one kid was so hyped to be there, that he asked me how to do it.  That and the third until I finally just gave him the picture. I thought to myself,” he’ll figure it out.”

What web address can one go to to view more of what you do?

http://www.khalidoscope.com

or my Facebook: Khalid Robertson (that has a lot)

How can someone contact you?

khalid.steelo@gmail.com
PEACE!

2 Responses to “Artist Spotlight: Khalid Robertson”

  1. Yeah. I’m diggin the works. Do please keep it movin. Peace.

    sidenote: I’m at the Apple Store Northpark. Should you find yourself ready to upgrade/service your toolery, do please holla. No commissions. No hookups. Just love. One.

  2. bsteelo Says:

    man I’m always ready. I’m waiting for the pocket to be also

Leave a Reply

