Artist Spotlight: Jen Sulak

Tell me a little bit about yourself..

My name is Jen Sulak….(Shoe-Lock)….and I am a full-time photographer, artist and a wife to a great guy who is a true complementing personality to myself and the love of my life.  I have been in full-time photography for almost 3 years after getting laid off from a full-time data entry position in 2008 and have loved almost every minute of it! (There are lots of challenges!)   I have 2 great cats (affectionately called Wookies) called Chewbacca & Hanz.  I enjoy specializing my artistic photography in Weddings & Portraits…and extra bonuses like abstract & concept digital art.

As you have grown within your talent, what inspires you to create?

I think more and more it is the LIGHT that inspires me to create.  It is about the lighting as much as it is your subject.  This world has so many colors and textures and contrasts.  I simply want to keep capturing those things as much as I can to show the world how it is…and how it could be.

How long have you been producing your craft and why did you begin this form of expression?

I began this form of expression just as a way to express myself and what I saw around the world.  In the past, I had been creative with pencils, pens and paints…but the camera held a different feel for me….especially in film days where you didn’t know what you were getting!  My expressions have grown to include many people and events….and creating artwork with software as well to bring my inner thoughts & dreams to a reality for a subject.

What do you ultimately want to accomplish with your talent?

I would love to be able to express myself fully with messages of hope, fulfillment and love.  I hope to inspire my clients and fellow humans to be themselves and realize their beauty inside and out.   I want to express myself in art shows and someday collaborate with Blue Man Group and Lady Gaga.  If anything – I think creative collaborations and making dreams a reality is a habit I would love to form on a new level.  There is something about living life freely to CREATE the way I was made to create and the gifts I was given.  I want to USE those gifts.

Outside of your artistry, what other interests do you have?

If I’m not doing photography, you will find me passionately doing fitness routines and pushing myself in various physical ways. I’m a movie buff so I am always watching various movies and I love love love LAUGHING, so I appreciate the clean humor in the world that amuses me and lets me enjoy life.  You may also find me decorating my home from time to time and picking up a sewing machine to create some interesting things.  Not a lot, but sometimes!  Also, my biggest thing to do is spending face time with friends and family.  You will find me booking lunches/coffee and various dates with my friends.  That is a huge interest of mine!

What was your first experience with ArtLoveMagic?

I love telling this story, because it literally helped me grow as a person as well as an artist.
My good friend Amanda Davis invited me to be her assistant at a show…and then i volunteered at Underground in 2009 to work the front door.  I had heard many things about ALM through Amanda.  When I volunteered, I figured what a great way to meet other creative people and serve others at the same time.
Little did i know that Justin Nygren would ask me the infamous question….”What is the color on your hair called?”……”Atomic Pink” I say….and there, girlShow 2009 was born.   That was one of the coolest years of my life.

What web address can one go to to view more of what you do?

For those that don’t know…I have just changed my business name to PINK LIGHT IMAGES!  You can see my work and my galleries at http://www.pinklightstore.com

How can someone contact you?

http://www.pinklightimages.com

2 Responses to “Artist Spotlight: Jen Sulak”

  1. Sherry Muldoon Says:

    AHHHHH!!! I love my Jen Sulak!! So inspiring and full of love…

  2. and i love my sherry!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

