Artist Spotlight: Eddie Walker

Tell me a little bit about yourself..

My name is Eddie Walker. I was born in Dallas, raised in East Texas. I graduated from UNT with a Bachelor of Fine Arts degree in Advertising Art. I am currently a graphic designer working for the Dallas County Community College District. When I’m not doing graphic design and press checks, I’m doing airbrush artwork.

As you have grown within your talent, what inspires you to create?

Simply put, the things I see inspire me. I truly believe the idea that one in always influence by their surroundings. For a long time I was surrounded by the rodeo, my east Texas cowpoke friends and what not, so I painted a lot of cowboy art. Nowadays I hang out mostly in and around downtown Dallas and my friends are largely my ArtLoveMagic family so my subject matter has become mostly art and music related. For me, my inspirations as of late have been the talented people I surround myself with.

How long have you been producing your craft and why did you begin this form of expression?

I’ve been painting and drawing as far back as I can remember. Mom says I started drawing at the age of two. I first began airbrushing on Chevy vans, the Good Time Machines, back in 1976. Didn’t like it much then, but it was work. When I went to college in the early ’80’s I was one of the few who knew about airbrushing and used it a few times. Still didn’t care for it too much. After graduating, I got a job at a publishing company doing photo retouching and restoration using mostly airbrush; it was the pre Photoshop era. It was about 1990 when I began applying airbrush to canvas and suddenly, I couldn’t get enough of it. Been doing it ever since.


What do you ultimately want to accomplish with your talent?

Aside from my own personal gratification, I don’t really have an “ultimate” goal. I mean, any and everyone would like to make a living from their art, no doubt; I’m no different in that respect. But for me, just doing art, expressing myself, and having fun is where I want to be.  I mean, I feel a better question would be ‘what does my talent have in store for me?’ I’m very grateful for all I’m doing these days and I hope to keep it up.

Outside of your artistry, what other interests do you have?

Well, being somewhat of a country boy, I’ve always like horse back riding and the rodeo. I like to jog and workout. I like the martial arts: being that I have a second degree black belt in TaeKwonDo, although the last time I was in a dojang was in 1985, I still like to get in the gym and kick the bag a while.

What was your first experience with ArtLoveMagic?

My first experience with ArtLoveMagic was at Visions in 2008. I remember I was just in awe of everyone creating live and knew that it was something I would really be interested in, since doing yearbook design at the publishing company where I used to work had me designing live for schools and universities. Then the next event was Underground, and I was hooked. I knew I had to find these founder guys and let them know I wanted to be a part somehow.

What web address can one go to to view more of what you do?

http://www.eddiewalkerart.com

How can someone contact you?

You can visit my website at http://www.eddiewalkerart.com, email me at eddiewalker@eddiewalkerart.com, or call 214-533-3375.You can also catch me at most of the ArtLoveMagic events, either doing art, volunteering, or just hanging out and supporting my peeps.

One Response to “Artist Spotlight: Eddie Walker”

  1. In addition to being a pretty brilliant artist, Eddie Walker was one of the early people to really believe in and support ArtLoveMagic. Years ago, he saw what we were up to and asked David and I if he could buy us lunch – where he proceeded to tell us that he’d like to not only join the community, but support it financially and with his time and labor as well.

    Since then he’s participated in more shows than almost anyone and has documented our history through amazing paintings. He’s a gifted artist and a great person. We’re better for knowing him.

    -ML

Leave a Reply

