Artist Spotlight: Ashley Jones

Tell me a little bit about yourself…

My name is Ashley Jones. I am an artist currently experimenting and meandering between a few different styles and mediums; collage, paint and mixed media assemblages. I am also an elementary school educator who teaches character development to young students in effort to instill vital elements of integrity, leadership and positive self image in order to build a foundation on which each student will grow. Given the amazing opportunity to teach such an inspiring class, I have been able to rediscover my talents as an artist. Which has given me the ability to dust off MY very own foundation in order to re-grow my own self. The unearthing of this positive revelation can be seen throughout my ever changing artistic style.

As you have grown within your talent, what inspires you to create?

As the different stages of my life are met and ultimately revealed, my heart leads me in different directions. It is my heart, and the emotions it creates that inspires me. This makes for an incessant change of style and medium. When lead down each new path, one can see an overlapping and continuity in my art form from one progression to the next.

How long have you been producing your craft and why did you begin this form of expression?

For as long as I can remember, I have had a profound love for creating art. I have never followed traditional rules or styles of art. I merely listen to my heart and where ever it leads me I go. My motive to create has merely been to remain grounded and at peace in the crazy world I subsist. I use art as a means, not only to convey the overwhelming feelings and emotions I experience daily, but moreover, as a therapeutic means to liberate myself from them.

What do you ultimately want to accomplish with your talent?

Ultimately, I would like to unearth the means to become a full time artist. In the mean time, I would like to utilize my talent as well as my teaching background to help others find and grow their own artistic self.

Outside of your artistry, what other interests do you have?

Outside my artistry I enjoy many things such as:

– taking old things apart to make them into something new

– going to art shows to experience other peoples art

– spending time in nature enjoying it’s beauty

– hanging out and laughing with my amazing daughter

– cooking for people

– going to the thrift store

– playing board games

– making people laugh and smile


What was your first experience with ArtLoveMagic?

My first experience with ArtLoveMagic was during the summer of 2010. Being a teacher I have a lot of free time on my hands in the summertime. So when a friend told me about ALM I volunteered to help with a kids workshop. I instantly felt as if I belonged. I was surrounded by a room full of loving, caring people who were simply there to perform selfless acts for the community, purely for the love of art.

What web address can one go to to view more of what you do?

My Etsy:  http://www.etsy.com/shop/cashleyjones
My Facebook:  http://www.facebook.com/#!/pages/CrashAlter/240797771261


How can someone contact you?

My Etsy, my Facebook, or my email: cashleyjones@hotmail.com

Leave a Reply

