Artist Spotlight: Jason Kinney

Tell me a little bit about yourself..

My name is Jason Kinney. I am a 37 year old pencil portrait artist with no formal art training. I have a full time job involving computer backups and  create art in my spare time, usually through commissioned portraits. I also give private pencil portrait art lessons to children and adults. I live in south Arlington with my wife of 12 years, Amy. No kids. Three stinky cats. Answers to common question I’m asked:  I usually only use a #2 mechanical pencil (costs under $1), an eraser, and paper. A typical drawing will take between 8 – 10 hours.  11X14 is my average size drawing.

As you have grown within your talent, what inspires you to create?

When my life instantly changed with a sudden thunderbolt, I began searching for ways to serve God. He very distinctly led me back to drawing, which I had totally abandoned for many years. My Lord inspires me to create. He put within me a deep-rooted desire to draw people in a certain loving light. I am extremely blessed by it and I try to bless others through it.

How long have you been producing your craft and why did you begin this form of expression?

I suppose I’ve been drawing pencil portraits in one form or another ever since grade school. I think I always showed some raw talent for drawing, but never committed to it or pursued it at all, up until six years ago or so. I had a very dramatic and literally miraculous Christian conversion, which delivered me and Amy from a hardcore drug addiction that was destroying our life. It was only when I surrendered my life to Jesus Christ that I began to draw this way. I seem to be able to freely access this God-given gift of art down to it’s very depths, whereas previously, I only skimmed the surface.

The images to follow are PENCIL ILLUSTRATIONS!

What do you ultimately want to accomplish with your talent?

In a very selfish way, I ultimately want to take pencil art to a level of realism that would shock most people. But I admit, my primary goal is just to serve my Lord with it and revel in what He decides to ultimately accomplish through it.

Outside of your artistry, what other interests do you have?

Outside of art, I very much enjoy composing music (mainly piano), playing Rock Band, and hanging out with my crazy, I mean lovely wife and friends.

What was your first experience with ArtLoveMagic?

I’ve done quite a few shows with ArtLoveMagic. I can’t say enough how much fun I’ve had being a part of it. This large, diverse group of musicians and artists has both inspired me as an artist, and taught me a great deal of experiential knowledge I need to artistically grow.  I remember being very nervous and unsure at my first ArtLoveMagic show because of my lack of experience around other artists. But the doubt quickly turned into exhilaration after meeting many total strangers who were interested in what I do and why I do it. It was a huge turning point in my art career.

What web address can one go to to view more of what you do?

You can go to http://www.jasonkinneyart.com to see my artwork and read my incredible testimony. Or you can befriend me on Facebook.

How can someone contact you?

You can contact me through email at jasonkinneyart@att.net. I love connecting with other artists. Nothing but good and exciting things have ever come from it.

Leave a Reply

