Artist Spotlight: Playdough

Tell me a little bit about yourself..

I’m Playdough. I’m an Emcee and producer. I’m a solo artist as well as part of a crew called Deepspace5. I’m a family man and I live in Arlington.

As you have grown within your talent, what inspires you to create?

I love making music. I love having an idea and working on it to it’s completion. I love all the different styles and cadences and melodies and moods that music allows us to explore. Sometimes it’s personal and changes you, sometimes it changes others that hear it. Meeting and talking with people that have been effected or enjoy my music is a big part, but I honestly couldn’t do anything else. Music is infused into my life and is a part of me.

How long have you been producing your craft and why did you begin this form of expression?

I’ve been rapping since I was in the 6th grade. Hip-Hop really grabbed me. I was always drawn to music, but hip-hop specifically spoke to me in a way that I never really made a conscious choice to do it. One day I looked up and I was knee deep in it. It just kind of sucks you in and makes you a part of the culture.

What do you ultimately want to accomplish with your talent?

I want to continue to take it to people who need and enjoy it. Worldwide. I want get people thinking. At the end of the day I want people to hear the Life in my music. I have nothing to offer people outside of Christ and what I’ve learned from Him. I hope my music reflects the Life and eternal hope that comes through knowing Him.

Outside of your artistry, what other interests do you have?

I’m a huge family man so if I’m not doing music I’m probably playing around with my family. I also love basketball and am forever supporting the Mavs. I’m also a big fan of reading so it’s nothing strange to find my nose in a book.

What was your first experience with ArtLoveMagic?

My first experience was meeting some of the ArtLoveMagic family at some of my shows. I started to meet people associated with them and was really impressed by the type of people they were. Lots of Love, support and genuine encouragement. The more people I met the more I saw the talent and how deep it goes. Everyone involved is ridiculous in their own way. I’ve got nothing but Love for you guys and am honored that people of your talent appreciate what I do. In my mind somehow it adds validity to what I do.

What web address can one go to to view more of what you do?

www.iamplaydough.com

How can someone contact you?

On my website is probably the easiest, but I’m on the usual sites, too. Try www.twitter.com/_playdough or www.facebook.com/playdoughmusic or you can ask your mom, she’s got my number.


Leave a Reply

