Artist Spotlight: Cody Phillips

Tell me a little bit about yourself..

My name is Cody Phillips and I live in Keller, TX with my wife and 4 kiddos. I am an art director by day and a toy designer / painter by night and have been doing gallery shows for about 2 years now.

As you have grown within your talent, what inspires you to create?

That’s a good question. I owe it all to my friends and the people I have meet along the way at shows and conventions. I have seen so much talent in Dallas alone that it is constantly challenging me to step up my game, learn more styles of art and put my own spin on it. I remember the first time I met Scott Higgins who was already a seasoned toy designer. I went to a Kidrobot event were we were given toys to design for free as a promotion. Scott comes in with a tackle box full of glues, blades and putty and starts cutting his toy to pieces. I was shocked and had no idea what he was about to do, but I soon learned he was taking the customization to a whole new level. Adding parts, using other toys, etc. The possibilities were endless!

How long have you been producing your craft and why did you begin this form of expression?

I have alway been into art. In fact in school it was the only thing I was really good at, so I focused all my energy into it and made a career out of it. I remember being in deep ellum and seeing some graffiti artist and really got fascinated with spray can art and the urban scene as a whole. I started spending my weekends learning how to graffiti and before long learned about these vinyl toys graffiti artist were customizing as a form of new canvas and I knew I had to take a stab at it.

What do you ultimately want to accomplish with your talent?

I really just want to have a good time doing it. If I focus too much on the accomplishments or fame part of it I am destined for disappointment. I try to stay humble because there are plenty of artists better than me, and if something cool happens its just icing on the cake.

Outside of your artistry, what other interests do you have?

I love music and movies. I actually watch a movie EVERY night when I am painting. Most are crap, but when you are watching 5-7 movies in a week you tend to run out of options. When I am not watching movies I am listening to tons of music, mostly hip-hop and dance music. I was in the music industry for 10 years as a DJ/Producer and have an appreciation for the craft and what goes into it. (BTW MacIX was my DJ name) Video games, toys, telling jokes, etc. Pretty much acting like a kid in my spare time. Having children was a great cover for my childish addictions.

What was your first experience with ArtLoveMagic?

I met David (Rodriguez, Co-Founder of ArtLoveMagic) at an art show, and he asked me to be in an event called Underground where I would be painting toys LIVE. I was really impressed to walk into the pre-event meeting to see how organized ArtLoveMagic was and how serious they were about standing behind their artists. The show was a huge success and opened many doors for me. Everyone involved with the organization has been such an amazing blessing into my life.

What web address can one go to to view more of what you do?

Most of my pics are on my facebook page, but feel free to stop by http://www.macixart.com to check out the progress of my new site.

How can someone contact you?

Shoot me an email at codyphillipsdesign@hotmail.com or drop me a line on facebook. Thanks again! See you out at the shows.

2 Responses to “Artist Spotlight: Cody Phillips”

  1. Cody’s approach to humble exploration into current works by other artists is a key element in growing honestly and bravely as an artist… and being a vital part of the art community. While this attitude challenges us individually to step outside our comfort zone and try new things, it also increases the potential synergy between artists in the realm of collaboration (artistically and otherwise). Cody has it… remain humble and be inspired… be bold and inspire others. It’s a beautiful and cyclical synergism necessary to the lifeblood of any community.

  2. Best not to take anything in life too seriously, art should be enjoyed. What better way to appreciate art than to create playful objects to ignite imagination. You are a very talented artist! I know you will succeed in all your endeavors because you keep a youthfull essence alive! Which is critical in both the positive and negative aspects of life. Brava, keep the good work! 🙂

Leave a Reply

