UNDERGROUND ARTIST SPOTLIGHT – Ashley Jones

Underground has a tradition of being the biggest, loudest, freshest show we do every year. This year you can expect no less than 50 live artists, dozens of artforms, and absolutely incredible live performance acts. This is also a show that ALWAYS features many new talents and never-before-seen experiences to artlovemagic‘s story. We wanted to feature some of those talents who may not yet be on your radar.

Meet Ashley Jones.  Ashley works in a variety of mediums: collage, paint and mixed media assemblages. She credits her day-job of pouring into young students in effort to instill integrity, leadership and positive self image with helping her rediscover her talents as an artist.

We asked Ashley how long she had been producing and she answered….”For as long as I can remember, I have had a profound love for creating art. I have never followed traditional rules or styles of art. I merely listen to my heart and where ever it leads me I go. My motive to create has merely been to remain grounded and at peace in the crazy world I subsist. I use art as a means, not only to convey the overwhelming feelings and emotions I experience daily, but moreover, as a therapeutic means to liberate myself from them.”

ArtLoveMagic founder Michael Lagocki had this to say about Ashley’s work, “I love the way Ashley has stormed onto the local art scene in the last few years. In a very short period of time, she…

 

– dove into the artlovemagic scene first by volunteering and then creating live at a series of shows

– created a wide body of new work. Constantly growing and very prolific, it seemed like Ashley had new pieces to show every few weeks.

– began collaborating with a number of established local artists

– and showed her work in galleries and exhibits all over town

It’s inspiring to watch someone tackle their dreams with that kind of passion. I think she succeeded as much from her personality as she did from the quality of her work. Both make you want to work with Ashley over and over.”

See Ashley create live on February 12th at the Underground Show at Southside Lamar.

–Cathy Hutchison

Leave a Reply

