Artist To Artist – Eddie Walker

The ArtLoveMagic  special blog series  “Artist to Artist” continues with airbrush artist and graphic designer Eddie Walker.    Our goal is to help artists by sharing  the wisdom and experience of  other artists.     What we wanted to know specifically from each artist was:   1)  What did you learn in 2010?     AND     2)  What are you planning for 2011?

**As an artist, the most important thing I learned in 2010 was  ……….. Always establish provenance with your client, and be weary of “only” third party representation.  In addition, be weary of a client that does not ask for provenance as well.  An artist and client should always have some sort of face to face meeting to discuss one or both scheme and layout of an artwork or details of payment.  This way you can avoid the “he said”-“she said”-“I didn’t agree to that” type of situations.  I was always leery of this sort of thing, but always thought I was just being over cautious.  I learned to trust my gut feeling and if it doesn’t feel right, don’t go with it.  Better to ere on the side of caution.

Clients enjoy putting a face to “their” artist.  As with all customer service, face to face dealings are always friendlier and more comfortable.  After all, business is business.  Loving what you do is awesome, but not so much when you misunderstand what a third party may have worked out on your behalf.  That’s not to say that I’m against third parties, artist representation, or even word of mouth.  What I’m advocating is not to use that alone.

Have your rep set you up to meet the client when at all possible, even if at all else, it’s just a phone call.  Have your rep always insist on a meet if the client hasn’t met you before.  Both you and the client will enjoy the honesty, and it adds integrity to your art… its the “Look what I created for this client”-“Look what this artist created for me” factor.

**What I’m planning to do in 2011 is …… Establish a method of merchant payment.  I’d like to set up a merchant account with one of my banks to be able to accept credit and debit cards.  I’m checking into PayPal, but I’d like to find out more about it first; see if anyone has any experiences with it.   I also want to create more smaller pieces that can be sold for less than my larger more pricier pieces.

To learn more about Eddie and his artwork, please visit:  www.eddiewalkerart.com

One Response to “Artist To Artist – Eddie Walker”

Leave a Reply

