Artist to Artist – Sherry Muldoon

The ArtLoveMagic  special blog series  “Artist to Artist” continues with photographer Sherry Smith-Muldoon.    Our goal is to help artists by sharing  the wisdom and experience of  other artists.     What we wanted to know specifically from each artist was:   1)  What did you learn in 2010?     AND     2)  What are you planning for 2011?

Self Portrait Photo - Sherry Smith-Muldoon

As an artist, the most important thing that I learned in 2010 was to trust God by trusting myself.  In February of 2010, I made a very risky decision in my photography career.  I decided to leave a well paying corporate job with a pretty stable income and dive back into the insanity of self-employment.  I decided to become a fully self supporting artist!    Crazy?    I have not once regretted the decision.   As a result, I feel like I have been able to progress more creatively into my passion.

photo by Sherry Smith-Muldoon

My goals for 2011 are to do more things that I feel that I was “called’ to do both personally and in my career.   As a photographer, I am mostly drawn to children.  Maybe it is my inner yearning to stay lost in childhood bliss and to never grow up.   Or maybe I love the fact that children are generally never self-conscious in front of a camera.  You  get what you see!!   And I adore that about kiddos.    In 2011, I hope to work more with children and I am particularly passionate about drawing kids attention to the arts.   I hope to pursue my own personal mission in that area.    I also want to develop more in the art of photography and design.  There is much to learn and I still have a lot to say through the lens!!

photo by Sherry Smith-Muldoon

photo by Sherry Smith-Muldoon

To learn more about Sherry and her work, please visit these websites:   www.dreamfocusstudio.com
http://www.sherrysmith.exposuremanager.com

3 Responses to “Artist to Artist – Sherry Muldoon”

  1. Sherry Smith Says:

    I forgot to add that in the new year one of my goals is to help artists present their work in the best light. I have lots of experience photographing 3-dimensional work, as I am married to a ceramic artist!! Send me an email if you are needing assistance with your portfolio. My rates are very affordable. I work it around your budget. And…..I will also help you to get the most out of your camera when you have to do it yourself!!! sherrysmithphotography@gmail.com

  2. LOVE, LOVE, LOVE that first picture with the blond on the train tracks! Thank goodness I saw this post on the ArtLoveMagic site!!…it’s what led me to you! and what a blessing that was 🙂 keep up the great work, energy and positivity!! all are well needed and add much more beauty to this world;)

  3. […] Artist to Artist – Sherry Muldoon (via An Artistic Philosophy of Love and Magic) Posted on January 23, 2011 by aripursehooks The ArtLoveMagic  special blog series  “Artist to Artist” continues with photographer Sherry Smith-Muldoon.    Our goal is to help artists by sharing  the wisdom and experience of  other artists.     What we wanted to know specifically from each artist was:   1)  What did you learn in 2010?     AND     2)  What are you planning for 2011?

Leave a Reply

