LakeSide Market remembered by Kaitlin Epperson

Kaitlin Epperson and Eddie Walker, photo by Sherry Smith

One of our youngest artists in the collective, Kaitlin Epperson was asked to write a blog about her experience at our latest festival, “Be an Artist at LakeSide Market”.

“Last weekend, I was given the honor of participating in the Lakeside Market’s art festival in Plano. I got to go around and get a taste of all the interactives at the festival. I learned a lot of new techniques, and I even surprised myself at a couple of the stations.

Young girl gets creative with Julia Schloss, photo by Sherry Smith

I did take note that the most popular interactive was the pottery interactive. That was the only station I didn’t get to do all day, but I did observe the activities and the kids’ reactions to them. Like the other interactives, the energy was very positive. Everyone there was having so much fun!

Young boy at Conor Muldoon's Pottery wheel, photo by Sherry Smith

My favorite interactive was the airbrush interactive. I painted a really good picture of GIR from Invader Zim. That’s where I had surprised myself! I’m actually looking into it now. Every station I went to had something new and exciting to do. It was all very enjoyable!’

Eddie Walker leads his airbrush interactive, photo by Sherry Smith

It was great because I would create art at a deserted interactive, and all of these little kids, even parents, would come over and create art themselves. It brought a smile to my face seeing all the children really getting into what they were doing.

Young girl gets creative with artist Caterina Provost-Smith, photo by Caterina Provost-Smith

It was amazing to watch, truely inspiring, and very motivating. I believe that art is a way of life, and I could tell that art is definately going to have an impact on those kids’ lives.

Nicole Rodriguez and her little ones, photo by Sherry Smith

Overall, I had an amazing time at this festival. I really hope I can do something like that again, because it is such an exciting experience.”

Thank you, Kaitlin.  And yeah…you know you’ll be involved in even bigger, better experiences in the future as we both grow.  🙂

One Response to “LakeSide Market remembered by Kaitlin Epperson”

  1. Love it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

