Intentional

Posted by Michael Lagocki

After a lengthy break, I’m back to ArtLoveMagic- officially.

It was great to get away. I had hoped it would be some spiritual 40 days in the desert experience, but really it was just more calming down a bit, easing back, regaining some sanity, and letting my founding brothers David and Justin run the show without my influence for a bit.

I joked when I was leaving, “don’t burn the house down while I’m gone!” Really, I was worried that the enthusiasm could dwindle and we could loose some of the ground we’d gained in the last year. ArtLoveMagic is a lot work, and none of us get paid for it. Some of us put so much into that we almost snap and have to take a lengthy break.

So now 2010. Wow. Year four in this story begins. Year FOUR, that’s crazy. Our third year we grew. And I mean GREW. Our core team is now more than 20 individuals. We’ve worked with over 300 artists and performers now. We have more venues that would like to do artlovemagic shows than we could ever possibly keep up with. Now, as my friend Josh Dryk pointed out, it’s going to take some effort to ADAPT to all that growth.

Our keyword for 2010 is INTENTIONAL. We want to focus on a smaller number of intentional goals, and knock them out of the park. We’ve been operating at 115% of capacity for so long that I’m really interested to see what artlovemagic looks like when it’s rocking at 85% capacity (and we still have some leftover room for freedom, clear heads, and surprises).

I wont go into all the details. Trust me- we had a meeting- it was good. J I will give you an example of this intentional thing though: We are only having twelve all hands office meetings for this entire year. Last year we had slightly more (I’ll need an abacus and a super computer to get you that number). Our meetings will now be the first Wednesday of every month at 7pm (what’s tomorrow?). If you want to help us take over the world, swing by. We’ll lay out the coming shows and projects, figure out who’s working what, and develop our strategy for making each initiative successful.

If you want to be a part of something that will rock your world, gain you more friends than you can keep up with, and blesses the creative community of Dallas, we could use you. This whole artlovenonsense has been the hardest and best thing I’ve ever done. I can tell you without a shadow of a doubt, its not only worth it… there’s life changing stuff going on in here. Scroll down to the next blog for a taste of that. Nicole Rodriguez posted some of her favorite photos of 2009. Beautiful.

Be blessed.
-ML

photos by Josh Dryk and Jen Sulak

4 Responses to “Intentional”

  1. I can’t think of a better theme for the year.

  2. I Intentionally love the crap outta you.

  3. awwwww.
    This year’s looking good.
    -ML

  4. def. going to LOVE me some 2010.

Leave a Reply

