Arts Goggle – Review!

On Saturday, October 3rd ArtLoveMagic’s first infiltration of Fort Worth was unmistakably ArtLoveMagicy.  A photo collection of some of the night’s badasses:

goggle2trayce

Trayce Cochran

goggle7hotchickpaint

Elizabeth Trosper

goggle5eddie

Eddie Walker

goggle6zach

Zach Scott Pohl

goggle3riki

and of course, Riki Johnson

Riki Johnson, David & Nicole Rodriguez, and Keanna Pohl were the producers on this event, and they really kicked butt.  All the artists and musicians were happily creating and performing inside of a chill vibe and colorful atmosphere.  One of our newest volunteers, Sara Brown took the time to relate her experience to Keanna & me.  As one that has been involved with ArtLoveMagic for a couple of years now, I always find it refreshing when new folks come in and share their love with us.  Here were some of the cool things Sara experienced:

“The Goggle Event was my first real exposure to this type of creative outlet.  I love the honesty, caring and spontaneity of the artists.  Josh Dryk (right) was the highlight for me, as he showed us how painting with fire could be done.  I love the smell and feel of fire, as well as the visual effect!joshdryk

I found this a healing experience for me, moving into this large city. It is so nice to know there is such angelic folks like you to make life feel so alive! It would benefit so many people that need to know they matter….”

Welcome, Sara.

I really dug the fire art, too.  Conor Muldoon (below) throwing pottery live is always one of my favorite’s, and there were plenty of people who agreed with me.  I had the honor of performing the classic “Four Women” by Nina Simone with Kelly Nygren at my side, and the entire main stage was hosted by Fort Worth’s own Mike Guinn.  National Spoken Word champion Nnambdi Orakpo (below) was the feature poet of the evening and when he spit his piece, “Play Pretend” my eyes couldn’t help but leak and my soul couldn’t stop it’s speak…as Malcolm Jamal-Warner of the Cosby Show said, “Nnambdi is pure fire.”  I was the greatful recipient of his new book, Avant-God, Vintage Poetry Collection, which he was kind enough to sign for me. The Texas Red Legs rocked me to the last drop at the end of the night with their smash hit, “Black Sky Growl”, and so much more lie in between, you had to have been there.  I do hope that we continue to do shows with our friends at Arts 5th Avenue.  What nice people!  Art on, Fort Worth.  We’ll be seeing you.

goggle4conor

photo of Josh Dryk fire painting by Jenice Johnson, photo of Nnambdi Orakpo by Sondra Beamon, all other photo’s by Amber Nix Matthew’s.

photo by Sondra Beaman

photo by Sondra Beamon

Leave a Reply

