ArtLoveSabbatical

photo by Josh Dryk

photo by Josh Dryk

Starting September 19th, after our participation in the Deep Ellum Art Walk, I’ll be taking a sabbatical from ArtLoveMagic that will last about 4 months. Justin, David, Melody, and others will lead the organization and help it grow to new heights.

It’s been nearly three years since the beginning of artlovemagic, and as much as I love it, I need a little time away to recover and rest and get back to being an artist myself. I want to go spend some time with my Dad. I want to make a comic book.

We’re finally at a point where I believe the organization will handle it well. There are a ton of new people involved, passionate and interested in helping the collective continue to grow. And a number of families are involved now, not just individuals. That makes for strength and continuity.

I’m definitely going to miss it. Justin and David and I have been talking about this for a while. I originally planned on giving the organization a long loooong lead time before taking the sabbatical. But when we brought the idea to the artlovemagic Board, they correctly suggested that if I needed an extended break, sooner and healthier was better than later and more burned out.

My hope is that the organization could benefit from growing a stretch without me. I’ve somehow become entangled in nearly everything artlovemagic touches, and that’s not healthy long term. I’ve also noticed that the organization tends to mirror some of my weaknesses (wildly creative, but keeps it’s bedroom messy).

photo by Nicole Rodrriguez

photo by Nicole Rodrriguez

So I will be out of the picture for the rest of the year. Please don’t think me rude if you don’t hear from me much over the next few months. I’ve been thinking, breathing, and dreaming (oh yes) artlovemagic for a long time now.

I plan on being back for the massive January 30th Underground event (as an artist, not a producer).

Since most of the core team knows about this now, people are already stepping up, taking new roles. Mario’s new Business Ops team is doing pretty impressive things. Cathy and Chris are diving into funding. Kelly will be editor in chief. Nicole, Deb, Melody, Amanda, Keena, Josh- the list goes on and on. ArtLoveMagic is growing up. The key is the heart of it. The love principle. That has to remain in the center of everything.

This is the best and most challenging thing I’ve ever done, and I love my brothers who co-authored it with me. Artlovemagic was a spark of wanting to do something creative and healing. David brought the friendship and support and protection to it. Justin brought the method, and the unapologetic message of love.

photo by Jenice Johnson

photo by Jenice Johnson

This journey has been a beautiful roller coaster. Best people, best experiences, growth. I love it.

And to love it right I need to leave it for a little while.

I imagine most anyone who’s read this far has actually played some role in artlovemagic’s growth, however small. So thank you. It’s been great dreaming with you.

Check in on it for me. Make sure the house isn’t burning down. If you’ve ever wanted to be involved, now is the time to jump in. How? Send david@artlovemagic.com an email and tell him what you’d like to do. Or just show up at our offices (2630 Commerce) any Wednesday night at 7pm. You’ll either stumble into a meeting, a party, or an arts activity (and those are all cool).

Me? Stop by for the Arts Walk on the 19th to say goodbye. Then I go off-planet.

I’ll see you Underground.

-ML

photo from the first ever artlovemagic event, Reach in Feb. 2007

photo from the first ever artlovemagic event, Reach in Feb. 2007

8 Responses to “ArtLoveSabbatical”

  1. We LOVE! you Mike! Do your thang, and do it well…we’ll be here when you get back!

  2. Sooooooo…does that mean I don’t get any drawing lessons? 😉 Seriously though, enjoy your rest, Mike! It is well deserved…and necessary for us all. ALM is very good hands. Be blessed on your journey! Shabbat Shalom!

  3. Michael,
    Enjoy yourself with a refreshing, rediscovered sense of freedom and inspiration. Getting back to the things which make each of who we are, the essential elements which Mike, Mike… is a critical exercise we all need to remain sensitive to as we grow, assemble and then, reassemble our lives. Go with love, brother. No matter what you do, where you go, you will never be far away.
    ENJOY!

  4. Thanks Amanda – I love you and you’re one of the reasons something like this is possible. Rich- oy vey! Thanks for the blessing.. And Gary, thanks for the clarity as always, brother. Your enthusiasm for ArtLoveMagic has been a great energy boost throughout the story.

    I’ll be good, and do some creative things, and visit people I love. The hard part will be not showing up to every event. I’m gonna have to leave town to avoid that one.
    -ML

  5. Hey there! Sometimes you gotta do what you gotta do to keep your sanity. I absolutely adore ArtLoveMagic and I’m so glad that Michelle brought me into it. It’s good that you’re taking time for yourself, or you could end up like me….having to take an anti-crazy-ass pill. Trust me, it’s not a purdy site if I forget one. LAUGH!! Gawd, I slay myself. Anyhoo…take your rest, do yo’ thing Daddy-O and we’ll try not to burn the fukka down. (hehehe–Just Kidding). Au Revoir, Mon Ami! Tracey

  6. Mike, much love & respect. We all need a break and I agree, the sooner, the better. “Underground” will be an awesome event to return to!

  7. […] have two more days in artlovemagic before taking an extended break (see: artlovesabbatical) and I’m filled with a lot of Love for this organization. The other night someone asked me if […]

Leave a Reply

