ArtLoveMagic Entry Image: Loungin’ Around

High

Five!

The top photo is the original image used in creating the new entry for ArtLoveMagic.com. I totally dig this new entry image, and not because I worked on it. The original photo was taken by Jenice Johnson at our Father’s Day event which was located at located at the Egg & I in Addison. To end the night right Justin found me within the collection and told me to follow him. He does this often at our events and this usually leads to an interview or a photo op or something amazing is going on at our event and he wants to make sure that I get a chance to see it. I’m concerned about the day that will come when I blindly follow him, as I do, and he leads me to my doom. That will be a sad day. Anyway, this was a photo op. Michael and Serena were already comfortable on the ground. Justin joined in and I quickly got what we were trying to accomplish. Sherry decided to join us and Jenice began to shoot.

About a day after the event a collection of photos began appear on Jenice’s facebook account and this image was among them. This is ArtLoveMagic. We are gathering up amazing talent, we are rockin’ out shows, we are making an impact in our communities, we are sharing the love, and we’re doing it our way and enjoying every minute of it. That’s what this pic represents to me. As well, it is a great reminder of our amazing poet and dear friend, Serena Wills, who will be incredibly missed when she moves to DC (but she’ll be back for girlShow!)

When I told Jenice I wanted to use the image for an entry image, she expressed how she liked the image as well but was not happy that the linen we were resting on did not travel to the edges of the frame and mentioned her dislike of viewing the electrical plug within the shot. Hearing stuff like that makes me smile because I know I can fix those things with ease, and completely enjoy doing so. I will Photoshop that image up and down until it begs for mercy!

After that conversation I knew what she wanted me to fix but I knew I still needed to add some element within it in order for it to be ready for the site but I didn’t know what it might need. Then it hit me. I always try and add the text “artlovemagic” into the image somehow. In this one I could make the letters appear as though they were physically in the shot . And presto. Now I’m smilin’. Thanks Jenice for taking a beautiful shot of us (btw, I’m the one in the white button down). I think it’s another awesome piece, really… I’m trying not to be egotistical about this. If you have a concept that you think might be cool, let me know at david@artlovemagic.com.

post by David Rodriguez

2 Responses to “ArtLoveMagic Entry Image: Loungin’ Around”

  1. “I’m concerned about the day that will come when I blindly follow him, as I do, and he leads me to my doom.”

    that made me laugh. Great post, Dave.
    great image too.

    -Mike

  2. I so just only NOW read this! I love how you told the story of how you guys ended up on the floor and on the other side of my lens. You guys are so fun…it makes my job easy…

    love this post, David. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

